Enchanted

Against my better judgement I saw Enchanted. Oh hell, who am I fooling, I intiated the whole outting. I needed something totally mindless and entertaining. Although I swore off Disney movies forever, I figured a Disney movie that makes fun of Disney movies would be good. They really did have a go at themselves, and the beginning animated sequence included every cliche in Disney movies. I am not sure if the kiddies will get the sardonic respresentation, but oh well. However, in true Disney fascism, they are equal opportunity offenders, where they showed stereotypes of “supposed” Middle Eastern cab drivers, angry black women, horny gay men, and practically crucifed the chipmonk. The whole love story thing made me cynical too- how did they really end up together? Does she even use the bathroom? How do they explain their relationship to people? And I don’t think that was part of the irony. Also, I am over Patrick Dempsey at the heartthrob. I was kind of on the bandwagon when he made his comeback, but I’m over it. I think they should totally re-release Loverboy.

But James Marsden, be still my heart, totally played the dumb prince to perfection. Check out the tights! My obsession with him is growing. I also saw Hairspray this weekend and passed a couple of Gap ads with him in it as well. His bone structure can solve world peace.

3 thoughts on “Enchanted

  1. haaaaaah! Totally agree. I went and saw it too! Suze Sarand was terrible! I didn’t get why the evil queen stilled pursued giselle after it was obvs she wasn’t going to return to andalasia. Also P-demps is over… James Mardsen is rekindling my TGIF ABC 1990s love for him…did you see those thighs?

  2. How was Amy Adams? She’s getting Oscar buzz for this. It looks cute, so maybe I’ll see it. We saw “I’m Not There” this weekend. Bizarre movie. Have you seen “No Country for Old Men” or “American Gangster?” They’re both fantastic.

Leave a Reply

