tunes

I’m going to get sentimental here. In organizing my CDs I finally found my full London Cast recording of Miss Saigon. Holy shit, this may be the perfect Broadway show (besides Phantom of the Opera, Wicked, and Assassins, among others). I wonder why this has not been optioned for a movie yet. Wait, I want to hold my tongue. They will probably make it with an Asian cast, none of them Viatnamese (the original lead was Fillipino). I can see it being a good movie, but no one will be able to do it justice. Anyway, here it is, Part 1 and Part 2. I tear up on every listen. There are the usual showstoppers, but my personal highlights are “Please” and “Bui-doi.”

Free Image Hosting - www.supload.com

Part 1 here
Part 2 here

And also, the Dresden Dolls are the only band I have heard of that has been labeled “cabaret punk”. Whatever that means. I’ll be honest, I found them annoying at first when I heard their first album, but I am liking their new one much better.

Free Image Hosting - www.supload.com

The Dresden Dolls- Yes, Virginia here

Mudhoney was lumped in with the “grunge” revolution that came of the early 90s, but I think they actually have more punk roots. THis greatest of hits of sorts came out recently. I think they actually have a new album coming out soon.

Mudhoney- March to Fuzz here

Free Image Hosting - www.supload.com

Before Nirvana broke open the early-’90s grungeathon, Mudhoney were considered the Northwest’s brightest hope. Their first single, “Touch Me I’m Sick,” was an instant classic on college radio and the band’s odd-colored vinyl singles began fetching collectors’ prices before the 1990s even began. Their signature sound–molten guitars hyped up on cheap and noisy effect pedals (like the Superfuzz Bigmuff combination that titled their first EP) with a singer who rasped with a garage band’s untutored authority–was in stark contrast to the polished “hair metal” popular at the time. Collected here are the greatest hits, so to speak. The band never scaled to the Billboard heights of Nirvana, so the choices are purely aesthetic. The highlights are obvious: an overwhelming cover of the Texas hardcore band the Dicks’ “Hate the Police” and a ripping commentary on a certain rock star’s wife, “Into Your Shtick.” The second disc thankfully rescues 30 B-sides and rarities from the dustbin of oblivion. Consider this a grunge primer.

Leave a Reply

