just a fool to believe

Wow, another moment I felt really old. Listening to mainstream radio,  a hip hop song came on that seemed oddly familiar. It was a remake of Patrick Swayze’s “She’s Like the Wind”. Yes, that song from Dirty Dancing, folks. The kids listening to this weren’t even alive during that whole craze. I feel like my mom probably felt when “I Saw Him Standing There” by Tiffany came out, and how the kids listening to it didn’t even know the Beatles existed.

One thought on “just a fool to believe

  1. I’ve been re-living the music of 1987 and it’s a lot of fun! I’m doing month-by-months posts on blog about it. I’ll probably write the February 1987 post this weekend (preview: Cyndi Lauper’s “Change of Heart” is a really cool song, I’d never heard until embarking on this project). This may seem completely tangential until you realize that Dirty Dancing was a huge hit in…1987.

Leave a Reply

