List: worst albums of 2007, part 3

Ok, I knew what I was up against when I started posting these lists. I’ve had to refect at least 20 comments about this because they were pretty unproductive and basically name-calling. How many times do I have to say this? This is my opinion, nothing else. If you want to disagree and tell my why, that is fine, but really, name calling is not necessary. Other people have best-of lists that include The Hold Steady and Joanna Newsome, which basically give me ear diarrhea, but that’s why it’s an opinion. “Good” music is subjective. Okay? Ready? Let’s move on.

The Mooney Suzuki, Have Mercy
Please have mercy on us by not releasing anymore albums. Your poor, overproduced attempt at garage rock is tiring.

Mxpx, Secret Weapon
I can’t believe I would ever hear myself saying I was a fan of a Christian pop-punk band, but mxpx has a soft space in my heart. Then they turned into adults and are still singing about girls that are holding hands with another boy, and hanging out at the local soda shop or crap like that. Not that they need to change their entire image, but musical growth would be nice.

The Bravery, The Sun and the Moon
I was a huuuuge fan of their debut self-titled album, even when crtics panned them as a pre-selcted, Monkees-esque New York hipster band. However, they were not even trying. It’s like their manager woke them up early one morning, dragged them into the studio, and forced them to record something.

Avril Lavigne, The Best Damn Thing
Believe it or not, her second album was an album I actually enjoyed. It was great pop-rock with a semi-decent independent-woman message. Then she created a new genre called brat-rock. And blatantly ripped off other people’s songs.

Motion City Soundtrack, Even If It Kills Me
Listening to this will kill me, because it’s so whiny. They have potench, you all know how I feel about bands with electric keyboards. Why so bad then?

Kaiser Chiefs, Yours Truly, Angry Mob
Snore.

Bad Brains, Build a Nation
I know, I know! I can’t believe I am including a Bad Brains album on here. However, sometimes the time and era that music came out impacts its greatness. I just want to remember BBs as the pioneers they were in the late eighties, not with new stuff.

Ted Leo and the Pharmacists, Living with the Living
When Ted Leo’s first album came out, I somehow convinced myself that it was fun and quirky, but I was probably just rationalizing. Then a few more albums came out that sounded exactly the same. Finally I realized that his songwriting annoys me.

The Arcade Fire, Neon Bible
Prime example of the Emperor’s New Music. I don’t get it.

Coming up: the absolute worst of the worst.

See previous bad albums.

6 thoughts on “List: worst albums of 2007, part 3

  1. I think you and I are the only two people who like Avril Lavigne’s second album better than her other two. “Hot” is currently flopping round the world, which should bring you some joy. I can’t agree with Kaiser Chiefs though. I thought their second album was great.

  2. Loving the lists so far. Agree with everything other than the Bright Eyes on the previous list – not because I really like the album, but out of continuing loyalty.

    So funny about MXPX – when I was a youth in the Seattle-area, they used to whore themselves out to any venue that would have them, so I have seen them live about 50 million times. Didn’t know they were still going…

    And I am glad to finally find someone else who feels the same about LCD Soundsystem and Simian Mobile Disco.

  3. Aw…MXPX worst album? Have you ever really listened or read Mike’s words? Its not always about girls, holding hands, or fun stuff. Many of their songs are about sociological and political thinking. Secret Weapon made my best CDs of 2007 list. But people are entitled to their opinion.

  4. That would be sweet to go see Avril Lavigne in concert in Beijing China. Her tour date says it’s October 6th. After watching the olympics, I really want to visit Beijing now.

Leave a Reply

