Don’t you hate it when you really want to like a movie but then you see it and you really wish it was a thousand times better

Yea, I feel that way about Across the Universe. I mean, the idea is pretty brilliant, in a Mamma Mia! kind of way. I mean, why NOT use Beatles songs to make a musical about it? But it just didn’t do it for me. Even with Bono singing “I Am the Walrus”. And some kicky trippy, musical numbers. And Jim Sturbridge’s cuteness. Still, I found myself totally bored between songs and then high hopes for the musical numbers and blah. The characters fell flat for me. I felt Lucy was a dumb teenager who went along with war protests because it was popluar and the whole fight between her and Jude because he thought she was sleeping with the protest guy? Snoozefest ’08.  I really wanted this to be the new Moulin Rouge. But can there ever be?

One thought on “Don’t you hate it when you really want to like a movie but then you see it and you really wish it was a thousand times better

  1. The movie made me think, “wow I really like these songs.”
    Most of the songs were pretty good, except for Blackbird, which was my favorite and then Lucy butchered it. Lame.

Leave a Reply

