The Road

Photobucket

I finished reading The Road by Cormac McCarthy. It’s not something I would have chosen myself, it’s for a book club. Hmmm, don’t know about it. It was a post-apacolyptic world, so you’d think I’d love it, but it read more like a short story than a novel to me. The interesting parts were the descriptions of the actual survival techniques, like how they built makeshift lanterns and the things they savaged from abandoned boats etc. Isn’t this an Oprah book? That means it already is going to be made into a movie…wait, yup it is, starring Viggo. I am not sure how that will work for movie audiences, there is a lot of ambiguity and unexplained plot points in the book, such as the characters don’t even have names, you are not sure if they even survive at the end, and we are not told what was the cause of the world’s demise. I like that, but audiences will not.

Here’s what is next on my reading list:

2 thoughts on “The Road

  1. Well, I hope you enjoy HUBERT’S FREAKS. If you get around to it by April 8th, check out our website, hubertsfreaks.com, which will be launched that day. There will photos as well as audio and eventually some video of people and places not in the book.

    Happy reading!
    Greg Gibson

  2. Is this being adapted into a film? I thought the book was really good. It may sound cheesy, but I liked how the love between the father and son endured, despite the harshness, bleakness, really the futility of their lives. The landscape really sticks in my mind–everything black and charred, nothing living.

Leave a Reply

