Confederacy of Dunces

Photobucket

Okay, Okay, I know I always gush over a new band or book or movie and say it changed my life, but for this time it is for realsies. I’ve heard about this one for a long time, but my book club chose this one so it gave me an excuse.

Ignatius J. Reilly is the person we always fear we will become- sloppy, unattractive, no way of interacting in a normal social way and on the fringes of society. But so awesome. His correspondence with Myrna Minkoff are the best things I have ever read. Since reading this, I have been thinking in Ignatius like sentiments. In the class I teach someone turned in a crappy assignment and I almost shrieked, “What sort of literary abortion have you subjected me to? Oh Fortuna, why do you but me in the presence of such fucking morons?”

Leave a Reply

