catching up on The Office

I said I was over it, but thanks to Hulu, I’ve caught up on all of season 4 of The Office. You all know I was against this show from the start, but then it won me over, and now I know there is a reason that the British version stopped after 2 seasons: to go out while it was still good. I think this version has gone past all the good it could do and is teetering on the edge of going downhill.

-Jim and Pam: I hate to use the cliche, but it’s Ross and Rachel syndrome; yes it was good to see the tension with the attraction, but now that they are together there’s something not quite there for me. Kudos to the writers for not making them all lovey dovey all the time and talking about their relationship in the office, but it really doesn’t do it for me. I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again: Karen was the better choice! Now in this last season they had to introduce the idea that there is going to be an engagement. WHAT THE FUCK. That just turned it into Grey’s Ananatomy for me. Why does everything have to be wedding-as-happy-ending centered?

-At the beginning Dwight was the most cliched, annoying character, but Rainn Wilson has done a good job with the character and over the seasons I have found Dwight to be actually quite endearing (I need to support a fellow Battlestar Galactica fan). I actually liked him and Angela together and I actually do feel for him over the breakup. I would totally stay at his beet farm getaway.

-Andy has been surprisingly subdued this season. Maybe scaling him back had to do with viewer response? I do miss his bursting into song from his Here Comes Treble days.

-I always thought the Michael Scott character was way over the top, but it has become beyond ridiculous and really hard to watch. Yes, it’s a fictional show, but I can’t get over the fact that he has not been fired yet for all the bullshit that goes on. Sure, the staff hate him, but how have they not rioted against him yet? That business with the Utica branch? Yeesh. That was hard to watch. The dinner party episode was very unwatchable for me (trying to hard, writers). And when did Jan go from a respected business woman to a shrill crazy psycho bitch? Thanks for committing to strong female characters there.

-Ryan as the boss? Hmmmm, not sure where this is going, but we shall see.

2 thoughts on “catching up on The Office

  1. I totally agree with you on the Michael Scott thing. He is the least funny element on the show to me, and is really only funny in very small doses. But maybe that’s just because uncomfortable comedy doesn’t make me laugh, it just makes me uncomfortable.

    I disagree about the Pam/Jim element though. I think they’ve done a great job of keeping it funny and fresh and not all lovey dovey and soapy. I have to give them kudos especially for daring to get them together, it’s rarely been done successfully, so I think they’re doing great. Too each his own I suppose though, right?

    Ryan is SUCH a dick as boss. But it’s pretty funny.

Leave a Reply

