things that freaked me out as a kid

I’ve been lurking around random forums, and one was about what tv and movie moments used to freak people out as kids. I thought I’d share my list, to see if anyone can relate.

The shot of the dead kid in Stand By Me. Til this day I have to look away when that scene comes up.

The video for “Land of Confusion”. Who knew that Genesis could be scary? The disembodies heads in the swamp is only the beginning. Shudder.

Some stupid made for tv movie about a couple that move into a Haunted House and one night the husband is hanging out in the living room and some ghost woman comes down and she has a crazy fucked up face and she basically rapes him. Anyone know what I am talking about? They replay it on USA network sometimes.

The video for Talking Heads’ “Blind”. What the fuck? A wrench comes alive and runs for office. The freaky think is the wrench drools. Uh muh god.

Basically all of Bram Stoker’s Dracula. The werewolf rape, the naked vampires, when Lucy rises from the dead and eats babies. Yeeks!

Pee-Wee’s big adventure. When Pee Wee hitchhikes and Large Marge tells him about an accident and says when they pulled the bodies from the wreckage, it looked like THIS!…don’t judge, I was pretty young when I saw that.

Stephen King’s It. Like, eight hours of scary clowns. Actually, not a lot of it scared me, except when the girl hears voices from inside the drain and it explodes with blood.

Some movie from the eighties about a genetic research lab that creates scary mutants. Somehow they impregnate a lady and the fetus escapes her stomach and goes around killing people. Seriously, I was like six when I saw it. I don’t remember the name.

The Peanut Butter Solution. What the fuck was someone on when they wrote that?

I’m gonna go vomit now.

5 thoughts on “things that freaked me out as a kid

  1. You just scared ME with the sentence about the girl hearing voices in the drain. Now I am afraid of my sink. Thanks, dogger.

  2. My list:
    1. The monster from Swamp Thing.
    2. Whenever The Incredible Hulk changed into the Hulk.
    3. When some guy was decapitated by sheet glass in The Omen.
    4. When Khan puts the Ceti eels in Checkov and Terrell in Star Trek II.
    5. Jason’s shrine with his dead mother’s head in Friday the 13th Part 2.

  3. OMG, I was freaked out by the Large Marge thing too, but no-one ever knows what I’m talking about. Thankyou!

  4. Hi Robin – long time no talk. I’m just doing what student affairs folks do over the summer and catching up on my reading. I felt compelled to point out the Colonel Tigh was in the Peanut Butter Solution, sorry if this ruins your BSG love. Hope you’re well.

Leave a Reply

