mix tape challenge

So I was talking smack at claiming that I was a music expert and am a genius as making mix tapes, based on the occasion and category. Someone actually took me on and now we are having a battle of the mixtapes. (Think You Got Served but with no dancing and me in my pjs looking through my iTunes list.)

Seeeeewwww the first category is to make the most depressing mixtape. So, that’s basically every song I listen to. But not really. Our official judge is a clinical psychologist. (This is serious business.) My thing is that depressing is subjective- I think some love songs are depressing because it reminds me that I am going to die alone. However, it’s not just the lyrics. Songs can be dark (see every Blonde Redhead Song) even if the lyrics aren’t. The hard part is that it can only be five songs. WTF???

So here are some ideas I have so far. Let me know what you think and if you have anything to add.

Radiohead, “Creep”

Nine Inch Nails, “Hurt”

Rilo Kiley, “Pictures of Success”

Johnny Cash “The Man Comes Around”

Broadway, “Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again” (from Phantom of the Opera)

Muse, “Butterflies and Hurricanes”

Nada Surf, “Inside of Love”

Bonnie Raitt “I can’t make you love me”

Antony and the Johnsons, “Hope There’s Someone”

The Verve, “Drugs Don’t Work”

Murder City Devils, “364 Days”

Depeche Mode, “Condemnation”

Nirvana, “Something In the Way”

6 thoughts on “mix tape challenge

  1. Jeff Buckley – Hallelujah
    Elliot Smith – Needle in the Hay

    And oddly enough, unintentially, the first two most depressing songs I thought of were both by people who killed themselves. (Although that’s debatable with Buckley.)

  2. Those are all pretty good. I find Nada Surf’s Inside of Love very depressing, but that might fall into the “it’s about love it’s not depressing!” grey area.

    some additional suggestions:
    Magnetic Fields – 100,000 Fireflies
    My Morning Jacket’s cover of – Rocket Man
    Radiohead – Rabbit In Your Headlights or A Wolf At The Door (maybe that one’s more scary than depressing?)
    Songs: Ohia – Blue Chicago Moon
    The Smiths – Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want
    Simon & Garfunkel – The Only Living Boy In New York
    Pinkback – June
    Cowboy Junkies – anything off the Trinity Sessions Album – listening to that whole album practically makes me get out the razor blades – particularly depressing are: Mining For Gold and I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry

    Can’t wait to hear (no pun) where you land. Good luck!

  3. Cool idea for a mix, I love sad songs. Most anything on Beck’s “Sea Change” would fit the bill. Also a lot of early Sebadoh always sounds very sad to me, “Soul and Fire,” for one.

  4. Are you going for depressing lyrics or overall mood? For mood The Verve, Muse and NIN are perfect. I would add Counting Crows “Colorblind”

  5. “Pretty” by Korn is about a baby that was raped and left for dead, so that probably fits the bill.
    AArgh, they kept playing “Cat’s Cradle” by Harry Chapin all yesterday and today, and that song makes me want to kill myself.

Leave a Reply

