mini update

Hi, I am wondering if I lost any readers that I initially had. I updated my best of 2008 album list. It was very painful. This is the year that I think I am too old to keep up with the latest music. I was waiting for this to happen. It takes a very intentional effort on my part, and I am not sure if it is worth my effort. Maybe the top ten I listed were very good, but I don’t have the emotional connection to these albums that I used to have to music that I love. After that, all the albums listed I guess were good, but really some of them I listened to two or three times and probably won’t go back. I also heard several debut albums from some bands that were decent, but I am not even sure if I would ever hear another release from them again. Buzz bands seem to come and go, and it’s like a subconsciously don’t want to commit.

Furthermore, it seems like every band I had previously loved released something this year so far, and I was utterly let down.

  • I don’t think I can call Nada Surf my favorite band; The Proximity Effect and Let Go were positively genius, the two releases after that, including this year’s Lucky, were so boring I gave it one listen and then tossed it aside.
  • The Music’s self-titled debut slated them as the next Led Zeppelin, but the two albums since that have been postively mediocre.
  • The Raconteurs: I’m actually eh about it, I actually prefer a White Stripes album. I hope another comes out soon.
  • I can’t believe the Dandy Warhols are still releasing albums, they should have quit in the late 90s when they were actually good.
  • Mudhoney, a legendary grunge band that paved the way for Soundgarden and Nirvana, released an album this year and no one blinked. It sounded the same as everything that do, but in the context it seemed awkward. The music scene is not what it used to be.
  • Death Cab for Cutie has been spewing out albums as fast as the CW is spwewing out teen shows to feature them, in my opinion, 1999’s “Photos in an Exhibition” were their peak.
  • Phantom Planet hit their peak with The Guest- did anyone even realize there hase been 2 albums since then? Not even worth it.
  • Yea, Weezer “reunited” and released another album. I don’t know how Rivers Cuomo can sleep at night knowing the mediocrity he produces. Nothing great since the Green album, and that’s even debatable.
  • The Stills new album? They were totally phoning it in.

Well, there’s still two months and maybe everything that comes out will wow me. We’ll see.

Now, time to get a but more positive:

  • The Black Kids album is positively infectious. Nothing too deep, just tunes that stay in your head.
  • Before this, I just couldn’t get into the Magnetic Fields, but Distorition totally wowed me. I even gave their previous stuff another chance, but for some reason this album is the only one that appealed to me.
  • Sons and Daughers: it seems this is one of the few bands left whose albums get progressively better.
  • Santogols is a poor man’s MIA, but still pretty good.
  • The Subways play it loud and fast. That hooks me every time.
  • The Teenagers were a wild card. Lots of talking and weird Frenchness.
  • Annie: better than most of the pop music out there. Will she ever gain mainstream popularity: I’d trade Duffy, Katy Perry and Danity Kane for her.
  • Calexico’s albums all sound exactly the same to me, but if works, don’t try to fix it.

I blame my incessant watching of VH1 Classic for my cynicism about music. I reminds me of all the awesome bands of the bast: Jesus & Mary Chain, Motley Cru, The Cult, Faith No More and how nothing compares.

2 thoughts on “mini update

  1. I see that posted. Maybe I screwed it up. Ooops. Now I’m embarassed. It’s great to have you back!!!! I love the Black Kids album too. Annie’s really that great? I didn’t care for her first album. I’m getting into Glasvegas right now, which you should check out.

Leave a Reply

